SQL Server 2008 R2 Installation issue : Condition is false because the required feature MSXMLSYS_Msxml6_Cpu32 failed in result Result

Hi Guys,

Before sometime I was trying to install SQL Server 2008 R2 EE 32-bit on machine Windows Server 2003 SP2 (32-bit) and i was not able to install it. I had all the pre-requisite to install SQL Server 2008 R2 i.e. at H\W & S\W level requirements; even though setup was failing. My setup started fine and didn’t gave me any error during installation but on the final window of installation “database engine” and other components too was failing to install.

To look in to that issue I openend “Detail.txt” file that was in path “C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\100\Setup Bootstrap\Log\20120106_065559” in my case. In your case it will be the location where you are installing your SQL Server. I read that file and found too many failed components and the error was below:

1. 2012-01-06 07:15:40 Slp: Condition “Feature dependency condition for action:  Install_sql_engine_core_shared_Cpu32_Action The condition tests feature: SQL_Engine_Core_Shared_sql_engine_core_shared_Cpu32. There are 7 dependant features. The feature is tested for results: ValidateResult, Result.” did not pass as it returned false and true was expected.

 2. 2012-01-06 07:15:40 Slp: Condition is false because the required feature MSXMLSYS_Msxml6_Cpu32 failed in result Result

But everywere in the “Detail.txt” file 2nd eror was repeating. Then I started to found the error related to MSXML. 

I got an idea to check if SQL Server 2008 R2 32-bit EE is supported on Windows Server 2003 EE SP2 32-bit and I found it was supported but only on Pentium3  and onwards procesors. In My case I checked the processor type and it was AMD.

The AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 285 doesn’t support MSXML6 component , whereas in other processors the issue is handled by the sql server 2008 R2 install seamlessly , here we need to apply certain patch manually. That patch I downloaded from below link:-

 

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=24032

After downloading and applied the patch I was able to install SQL Server 2008 R2 w/o any problem.

I Hope it will be helpfull for some one. Stay tune for more stuff”s. 🙂

Leave a Reply

